BMW Championship. Jason Wire to Wire to #1 in the World

White Dragon GolfBMW Championship

Winning the BMW Championship, wire to wire at Conway Farms Golf Club has elevated Jason Day to #1 in the world rankings.

BMW Championship

 

Jason had a final round -2 under par to post a total of -22 under par to win the BMW Championship, and to achieve his boyhood dream of becoming the Worlds #1 player, and the youngest ever Australian to carry that mantle.

It is hard for Jason to explain his recent run of good form;

“It’s tough to explain, I’ve just been working so hard. All I want to do is win.”

“That’s been my mentality. Ever since the Open Championship, something changed in my head.”

“I felt like it was my time to start winning tournaments. Ever since then it’s been a phenomenal run.”

“Yesterday and today were the toughest rounds I ever had to play in my entire life, just knowing that I had the opportunity to get to number one.”

“Stepping up and playing the way I did today was great, just to really understand what I put into my game to get to where I am today.”

Daniel Berger finished in second place, six shots back at -16 under par, he also had a -2 under par 69 last round.

Scott Piercy was alone in third position with -15 under par, a final round -1 under 70.

Rory McIlroy tied in fourth place with J.B. Holmes and Rickie Fowler, all at -14 under par.

Zach Johnson posted the low round of the day, -7 under par 64, he finished T13.

Only the top 30 players go on to contest the Tour Championship and FedExCup, at East Lake, and some top players have missed out. Phil Mickelson, Ian Poulter and Sergio Garcia will not be there.

Leave a Reply

