Lacoste Ladies Open de France. Gwladys Nocera Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Gwladys Nocera, from France, leads the Lacoste Ladies Open de France after the first round at Golf de Chantaco.

 Lacoste Ladies Open de France

Gwladys Nocera / Getty Images

Gwladys shot a first round -5 under par 65 to lead the Lacoste Ladies Open de France, on home soil, just a week after her performance in the Solheim Cup.

Gwladys said after last week she needed to get her act together and play some golf, and was happy to sink a few putts;

“I started the day a little bit slow and after a couple of holes I told myself, you decided to come here, you’ve always wanted to win this tournament, so get your act together and play golf.”

 “Sometimes after two tough weeks like we went through, it’s easy to not give everything you have because you’re tired, but I really want to win this tournament and I think in the back of my head it hit me.”

“I kept on playing better and made a few putts, so it’s really nice to end the day like that.”

Keeping up the French presence, Celine Herbin is in second place at -4 under par following her opening round 66.

Ladies European Tour rookie Emily Kristine Pedersen, Marianne Skarpnord, Cathryn Bristow and Marion Ricordeau all share third position on -3 under par.

Another Frenchwoman, Fiona Puyo carded a hole in one on the 141-yard par three 12th using an eight-iron;

“I didn’t see the ball go in, because the green is uphill, but I heard the cheers from the crowd and I knew the ball went in!”

” I was told it pitched two yards behind the pin and came back in with the spin.”

“It’s my second hole-in-one: I made one during the 2011 French match play championship when I was still an amateur. So it’s my first one as a pro.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

