Porsche European Open. Two Tied at the Top

White Dragon Golf

There are two players tied at the top of the Porsche European Open after the completion of the first  round. Bernd Wiesberger and Benjamin Hebert share the lead at Golf Resort Bad Griesbach in Germany.

Porsche European Open Porsche European Open

Bernd Wiesberger from Austria, and Benjamin Herbert from France.

Bernd and Ben both tore the course apart with opening rounds of -7 under par 64 at the Porsche European Open in Germany, to sit on top of the leaderboard.

Bernd, the Alstom Open de France winner was pleased with his first round performance, saying;

“I felt really good coming into this week. I played good golf last week and I dragged that into today as well, so I’m happy with the way I started this tournament.” 

“I hit the ball pretty good so few courses wouldn’t suit me right now. It’s not often you can say that but I felt in control of my ball flight and yardages.”

“I had a few hiccups on the greens but you can’t have it all.”

“You can see low scoring out here and perfect conditions so you need to take advantage of that and keep up.”

“It was nice out there for all of us and we did feed off each other on the back nine where you feel you have to produce a good score.”

Benjamin said he had played well, not making any mistakes;

“It was a great day. I played very well. I have played well for three weeks now but made some mistakes.” 

“Today I managed the course well and didn’t have any mistakes, so it is a good way to start the tournament. I started well and also had a good start to the back nine.” 

“I’ve played here two times already on the Challenge Tour and it is a good course. It was in great shape this afternoon and tomorrow the greens will be perfect in the morning.”

There are four players tied in second position, all with first round -6 under par scores of 65; Graeme Storm, Richard Bland, Richard Green and Darren Fichardt.

Home favorite Bernhard Langer is among the large group another stroke further back on -5 under par.

Bernhard was very happy with his back nine today;

“The first nine holes have been all right, but the second part has been great and 31 shots are a really good result.”

American Hunter Mahan is also on -5 under, and was very pleased to have been playing alongside Bernhard today;

“I’ll take this every day, five under is a solid start.” 

“I’m excited to be here at the Porsche European Open and if I keep this up I’ll be happy.” 

“It was a great patch just after the turn for me. I was just getting a sense on the greens on the front nine. I had some good opportunities but just didn’t make them and then on the back nine I had some good looks, and some good putts for birdies and rolled them true.”

“I had a couple of good breaks and a good stretch there which propelled me to five under.” 

“It was great to play with a German golfing legend like Bernhard Langer. He’s a great competitor. He doesn’t enter an event unless he thinks he can win.” 

“He still has great skill and drive at his age. It’s very impressive. It’s neat just to be around him.”

 

Leave a Reply

