Tour Championship. Henrik Holds Top Spot.

White Dragon GolfTOUR Championship

Henrik Stenson holds the top spot in the TOUR Championship after the opening round at East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta.

Tour Championship

Henrik Stenson / Getty Images

Henrik opened up with a -7 under par 63 at the TOUR Championship and sits on top of the leaderboard with a two shot advantage first round.

He holds all the aces in the FedExCup, even working out that although he has not recorded a win this season he could still win the pot with a solo second place finish;

“I had a look before we came here and I saw there’s a decent chance still if I’m solo second.”

 “Other than that, I’ll leave that to someone else to figure that out, a computer or something, because and again, I’m here to try and give myself a chance to win this golf tournament and I know if I do that, then I will win the #FedExCup as well.”

“And that’s what is great about being in the top five, and makes it very clear what can happen.”

“That’s what I was looking for, and I got it.”

“Unfortunately, dropped one coming in, but that’s not going to spoil the positive vibes and the great round I played.”

“If I were to finish second and win the #FedEx Cup, I’m pretty sure I’ll be smiling on Sunday.”

“I’ll be smiling more if I got two trophies, but I’ll deal with one as well.”

Paul Casey is in second place, a first round -5 under par 65 giving him that place on his own.

Paul is not sure he agree’s with the rules of this competition,

“At The Barclays I felt that it was a little unfair that Jason Day had already leapfrogged Jordan Spieth after the very first week.”

“Now, I actually think it’s slightly unfair that we can all overtake Day the way he’s played the last three weeks.”

Rory McIlroy shares third position with Zach Johnson, both at -4 under par.

Jason Day fell from grace today, carding -1 under par 69, a triple bogey 7 on the fourth hole not helping his cause. Jordan Spieth went one better, -2 under 68, while Bubba Watson could only manage a first round of even par 70.

Jason summed up his disappointment;

“I wish I could say that I was a machine and I can hit it straight down the gut every single time, 315 yards.”

“But, unfortunately, as humans, we’re going to make errors.”

“To make triple was pretty disappointing, but it’s early on in the tournament, so I can’t dwell on that.”

Leave a Reply

