Porsche European Open. Triple Tie at the Top

White Dragon Golf

At the end of the second day at the Porsche European Open there is a triple tie at the top of the leaderboard. Graeme StormRoss Fisher and Charl Schwartzel share the top spot at ten under par in Germany.

Porsche European Open

Eagle man Graeme Storm 

Graeme carded an Eagle, at the 514 yard par five 10th in his -4 under par second round of 67.

He explained the chip shot at his interview;

“I didn’t quite hit my second shot to get on the green but I had a lovely chip and run with a lob wedge which came off perfect.”

“I’m really happy to shoot four under today. I didn’t feel I was swinging it that great today.”

“I didn’t feel I was hitting the ball that great but I got round and made a few putts and I had a chip in on the tenth for eagle, which always helps.” 

“You need to score on those holes, 11, 12 and 13. I let myself down a bit on 13 with my only bogey of the week so far.”

Porsche European Open

Ross Fisher

Ross Fisher carded -6 under par 65 to post his -10 under total, and was very pleased with the result;

“I’m delighted. I played some very good golf out there. My form has been good and I am hitting the ball nicely. Results just haven’t shown that.” 

“Missing the cut in Holland, I didn’t actually play that badly. I felt fresh coming into this week after a week off and felt pretty comfortable out there in the pro-am.” 

“It is a course that suits me, I can be aggressive off the tee with the driver and the greens are so pure. I’ve got good vibes with it being the European Open, having won the tournament.” 

“I’m delighted it is back on the schedule and I’m delighted to put myself in position after two days.”

Porsche European Open

Charl Schwartzel

Charl shot -5 under par 66 was happy to be in contention, and with his putting;

“It’s nice to play some consistent golf. I’ve been feeling like I’m going to play well for a while, knocking on the door, but not had the momentum go my way.” 

“This time around I’ve kept it together nicely. I’ve hit lots of greens, given myself lots of opportunities and made a few putts, which helps. 

“The putting is getting better. I’ve been hitting lots of putts where it has missed by the time you hit it. 

“I can chip, that’s not my problem, but things like that (the second hole) are what you need when you are going to have a good tournament and compete. It keeps the momentum going. 

Tied in fourth place are Byeong Hun-An and Richard McEvoy, who are one stroke  back on -9 under par for the competition. BMW PGA Champion Byeong  also carded an Eagle today, on the same par five as Graeme.

Home favorite Bernhard Langer had an even par round of 71 today to stay at -5 under par for the tournament.

 

Leave a Reply

