Lacoste Ladies Open de France. Celine Ties Emily at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

Celine Herbin ties with Emily Kristine Pedersen at the top of the Lacoste Ladies Open de France leaderboard after the third round at  Golf de Chantaco in France.

Lacoste Ladies Open de France

A happy Celine Herbin / Getty Images

Local favorite Celine carded a bogey free third round of -5 under par 65 to share the lead at the  Lacoste Ladies Open de France with Danish rookie Emily Kristine Pedersen, both at -11 under par for the tournament, and will take a four shot lead into the final round tomorrow.

Celine said the crowds in the gallery helped her today;

“I’m really looking forward to playing tomorrow. It’s going to be really nice because it’s the Open de France and I am French.”

“I will have 1000 people around me cheering for me so it’s going to give me a plus, maybe the 15th club in my bag.”

“I really look forward to it and just want to enjoy it.”

“Of course it’s different when you have so many people cheering but you just focus on your own game, your ball and where to send your ball.”

 Lacoste Ladies Open de France

Emily Kristine Pedersen / Getty Images

Rookie Emily signed for a -2 under par 68 and said she will play her best tomorrow

“My game has been good all week.”

“If Celine shoots eight under or something there is not much you can do but I’ll play my best and I know my game is good enough to win.”

“Hopefully I’ll play well.”

Azahara Munoz and Pamela Pretswell are the two players those four shots back, both carded -4 under par 66’s today and will try to catch the leaders in the final round.

Azahara said it is a long way to go, but she is happy with her position;

“I’m obviously further away than I would like to be but I’ll take it.”

“Mid round I was six or seven back so if I’m five back tomorrow anything is possible. You can have a really low one here, so hopefully it will be me tomorrow.”

“You can make a big number out here or you can make a lot of birdies, it can go both ways.”

“I told myself to be patient, there were plenty of holes left and keep doing what I’ve been doing.”

Pamela has suffered some missed cuts recently, but her putter is working well now, and that makes a difference;

“I’m driving it well and hitting my irons a lot better, good distance control which is necessary with the spin on the greens.”

“I’ve been working on my putting the last month or so and the changes are starting to pay off.”

First round leader Gwladys Nocera is now five shots off the lead, a -2 under 68 today, which would have been better if her putter had been working;

“I didn’t make the four, five metre putts today for birdie.”

“I hit some good shots but they didn’t drop. It’s slightly frustrating but I’m getting there and tomorrow hopefully they will drop.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

