Porsche European Open. Thai Thongchai Leads

White Dragon Golf

Thai Thongchai Jaidee leads the Porsche European Open after the third round at Golf Resort Bad Griesbach in Germany.

Porssche European Open

Thongchai Jaidee / Getty Images

Thongchai rose to the top of the leaderboard with a -7 under par 64 in the third round of the Porsche European Open, with a total of -13 under par, and will take a one shot lead into the final round tomorrow.

Thongchai said he had played well for all three rounds, but today he putted better;

“I played solid all three rounds but today I putted much better.”

“You have to have good tee shots here as the greens are tricky. I enjoy playing this course and my game is good right now.” 

“I’m confident and I hit a lot of good shots. The course is not very long so being in position is important.” 

“I’ve been confident with my irons and I’ve got a good score. Seven under is very good for me today – I’ve not had seven under for a long time.” 

“Normally I’ve been about four under par, but the greens are soft and I can attack the pins here.”

Three players share second place at -12 under par, Ross Fisher, Pelle Edberg and Graeme Storm.

Ross and Graeme carded third rounds of -2 under par 69, while Pelle shot the low round of the day, -8 under par 63.

Ross thought he had everything under control, and then it slipped away;

“I felt like I played really well for 11 holes and had it under control.”

“Then I had a loose tee shot on 12 and couldn’t go for it in two, but still had a chance for birdie and then 16 was a poor tee shot, and I was unlucky with the lie.”

“That was the tough one missing the green from that distance, it was criminal. I shouldn’t be doing that.” 

“It would mean a lot to win this trophy again. It’s great that the European Open is back on the schedule, Porsche is a great sponsor that have stepped up and there is so much history with the European Open.” 

“I’m fortunate to have won it before, and I’ve given myself a chance to win it again.”

Graeme was the opposite to Thongchai, he had a bad day with the putter;

“It could have been better today. “

“I should have holed those putts on 11 and 12 but left them short; I seemed to do that quite a lot today.” 

“I was a bit disappointed to finish with a bogey on 18 but the way it panned out, it wasn’t a bad bogey in the end.”

“It would mean everything to win. I’ve done well in European Open’s in the past.”

“A close friend of mine, Kennie Ferrie, managed to win it in 2005 and I finished second so it would be good to bring it back to the north east.”

Jamie Donaldson, Mikko Ilonen and Magnus A Carlsson all tied for fifth on -11 under par, after matching rounds of 67.

Leave a Reply

