Lacoste Ladies Open de France. Celine Beats Emily in a Play-off.

White Dragon Golf

Celine Herbin beat  Danish rookie Emily Pedersen in a play-off to win the Lacoste Ladies Open de France.

 Lacoste Ladies Open de France

Celine Herbin / Getty Images

Celine and Emily both carded final rounds of even par 70 to post -11 under par totals for the  Lacoste Ladies Open de France, so they went into a play-off, which home town girl Celine won at the third extra hole. She was extremely emotional at the win, it was her maiden Ladies European Tour victory,  laying down on the green after her winning putt, being covered in Champagne by adoring fans and friends;

“To win my first tournament in my home country with so many people cheering for me, it’s like a dream.”

“I feel very lucky and I worked hard for that, so I think I deserve it and I’m very happy.”

“Obviously I didn’t make the best first nine holes but I believed in myself and knew I could turn it around.”

Her caddie Vicente Ballesteros, the brother of Seve., said;

“Emily was playing very well but we knew that she could get very nervous on the last few holes so I knew I had to fight until the last hole – until hole 75!”

Emily was very disappointed, at one point she had a five shot lead;

“I’m obviously very disappointed but I’m sure when I look back on the week I will be proud of my performance. I hope that this experience will make me a stronger and better player in the future.”

 Lacoste Ladies Open de France

A tearful Emily / Getty Images

Malene Jorgensen finished in third place at -9 under par for the tournament, just two strokes back, to record her second third place finish in three tournaments following the Helsingborg Open;

“Of course I’m happy with third place. I have had a good feeling with my swing since Sweden so it’s nice that it still works.”

Charley Hull was alone in fourth place on -8 under par after final round of 67, and she said;

“I’m pretty chuffed with a fourth place finish after a good three weeks.”

“I played well at Evian, had a good last week and good this week so I’m pretty happy and I can’t wait to go to Ibiza.”

Leave a Reply

