Alfred Dunhill Links Championship. Rookies Jimmy Mullen and Paul Dunne Lead

White Dragon Golf

Rookies Jimmy Mullen and Paul Dunne, share lead with Kristoffer Broberg after the first round of the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship in Scotland. This tournament is played over three courses, St Andrews, Carnoustie and Kingsbarns.

Alfred Dunhill Links Championship.

Jimmy Mullen / Getty Images

Jimmy has had a great amateur year, becoming just the fourth man in history to win all four of his matches in a Walker Cup. He carded a first round -8 under par at Kingsbarns and said he was just doing the same things as usual;

“What I did as an amateur worked, so I didn’t see any reason to change it.”

“I made the cut in The Open, two, three years ago now, and I knew I was better than that.”

“I just stuck to what me and caddie Alex (Howie) and Paul (Mitchell), my coach, who is up for a practice day, stuck to our game plan and our routine, and it worked all right today.”

“I’ll try and do it again the next hopefully three days.”

Paul also had a wonderful year, he held a share of the lead going into the final round of The Open at St Andrews. He also posted -8 under at Kingsbarns, a hole in one from 205 yards at the par three 15th, and a great putting performance made his day;

“I kind of needed it, I got off to a bit of a ropey start. I was hitting a lot of poor full shots.”

“My putter was kind of saving me, to be level par playing 15 which was my sixth, and it was nice to get a hole-in-one. It was exactly as I pictured it.

“I tried to start it at the left edge of green and let the wind drift it and I thought I hit it close and when I saw it drop, it was great. Nice little bonus there.”

“I played some good golf from then on in. Happy with my score.”

“There are scores out there to be had. You just have to make putts and get dialed in with your distance control and your irons.”

“I played a lot better on the front nine than I did on the back nine, which was my front nine, a lot better striking of my irons.”

Kristoffer, who is still searching for his first European Tour win carded his eight under at St Andrews. Most of the low scores on the day came from Kingsbarns, with  Søren Kjeldsen, Richard Bland and Anthony Wall tied in fourth place,  all on -7  under par there.

Defending champion Oliver Wilson had a day to forget as he shot +2 over par 74 at St Andrews.

Things will even themselves out with each player tackling all three courses, with the final round coming from The Old Course St Andrews on Sunday.

 

Leave a Reply

