LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship. Sung Hyun Park Leads. Equals Course Record.

White Dragon Golf

Sung Hyun Park equals the course record to lead the LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship in South Korea.

 LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship

Sung Hyun Park / Getty Images

Sung Hyun Park posted a bogey free -10 under par 62 at the  LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship, to equal the course record for Sky 72 Golf Club’s Ocean Course.

The new girl in the ranks, who has two victories this season, having won last week on the KLPGA Tour as well as the season’s first Major championship, the Korea Women’s Open, explained how excited she was to be playing here, especially partnering Lexi Thompson and Michelle Wie;

“Last year I came here to watch the championships, and so it’s a great honor to take part in the championships as a qualified player.”

“And at this point, I really feel that I have come a long way personally, as well, and I just really want to put in more effort and hard work and do my best, and I also want to thank the people who have helped me to come this far.”

I was playing with very long hitters today, Michelle and Lexi, and they are taller and bigger than I am and they are much more powerful than I am, but I notice that maybe my swing speed is a bit faster than them, and that might contribute to me being able to hit the ball as far as I do.”

Charley Hull, from England, and American Gerina Pillar are tied in second place at -6 under par after their not too shabby opening rounds of 66, but are four shots off the pace.

Gerina thinks it was the warmer conditions that helped the ball fly as far as it did, and good putting certainly was a factor;

“This course, the rough has always been tough and firm greens, firm and fast; I think the weather had a lot to do with it.”

“I think years in the past, it’s been a little chilly and that makes the ball obviously go nowhere at all.”

“ So to get a little warmth and get the ball a little higher, a little more spin, and so I think that’s a huge part of it.”

“I just made some putts, the greens are rolling pretty quick, and they are pretty pure.”

“But I think just getting the putter going, I missed the green on the first hole and I had about a 10-footer, so I think that just kind of kick started the whole day.”

Charley said she had played a solid round of golf;

“I’ve just been hitting it really well, touch wood, and putting good and hit it close. I just felt like I was pretty solid out there.”

 “On the back nine, I gave myself nearly a birdie chance on every hole, and I just didn’t kind of make them. But I felt like it was a good score out there today.”

World numbers one and two, Lydia Ko and Inbee Park are way back at -3 under par on day 1.

 

 

Leave a Reply

