Portugal Masters, Nicolas and Andy Share Lead On Day 1

White Dragon Golf

Nicolas Colsaerts and Andy Sullivan share the lead at Portugal Masters after day 1 at  Oceånico Victoria Golf Club.

Portugal Masters

Nicolas Colsaerts / Getty Images

Big hitting Belgian Nicolas and Englishman Andy both carded first rounds of -7 under par 64 to top the leaderboard at the Portugal Masters tournament.

Last year Nicolas had a putt for a 59 in his opening round here, and early on looked like he might be trying that mark again, but slowed down on the back nine. His length off the tee is a big advantage;

“I’m quite happy with seven under. Maybe I had an eight, nine, maybe ten, but seven under is always a good start.”

“I have a pretty good record in this place,” he said. “I’ve played well in the past. I feel comfortable. I’ve played well here before.

“I think I gave myself enough chances throughout the day. I missed a couple that I had good looks at but then it’s just the way it is.”

“There’s a couple of holes where I can take shortcuts, it doesn’t really matter if I hit it on the fairway or rough, even though the rough is a bit higher this year.”

“There’s a couple of holes where you have still got to be a bit careful. I would rather come with a pitching wedge from the rough than a seven or six iron from the fairway.”

“It is one of those courses where hitting it a long way is definitely an advantage.”

Andy has made an impressive start here, and is looking for his third European Tour win of the season. He is especially happy with his good putting;

“I made a real good swing on seven and then from there on I just seemed to gain confidence in my game.”

“I hit a lot of good shots through the middle part of the round that really got me going.”

“I’m putting nicely as well for a change. It was nice to see the ball go in the hole for a change.”

“I was frustrated with the bogey on the 16th really because I hit two good putts. Obviously, to come straight back with a birdie was really pleasing.”

“I was hoping to sneak one on the last, as well, just to get one ahead. But overall a really pleasing day.”

Thomas Pieters, Thomas Aiken, Eduardo De la Riva and David Drysdale are tied in third place at -6 under par, just one shot behind the leader.

 

Leave a Reply

