Frys.com Open. Brenden Steele Leads

White Dragon GolfFrys.com Open

Brendan Steele leads the Frys.com Open after the first round at Silverado Country Club.

Frys.com Open

Brendan Steele / Getty Images

Brendan fired an opening bogey free -9 under par 63 to lead the Frys.com Open by one shot, having not won on Tour since 2011 at the Valero Texas Open. Carding  birdies on seven  of his first nine holes, Brendan said it was because he only missed one green in regulation, and he needed only 26 putts;

file

“Why did I shoot 63 Thursday, well, I think I only missed one green. I would say that’s a good start.”

“As weird as it is to say, it was kind of a basic 63.”

“Today was just really solid. Just had a lot of looks and made the putts that I should make and threw a couple more on top.”

Jhonattan Vegas shares second place with Martin Laird on  -8 under par in their first rounds. Harold Varner 111 holds fourth position on his own after his -7 under par 65.

Rory McIlroy posted -4 under 68, saying he felt a little rusty;

“Gave myself a lot of chances, I converted a few, but I’ll need to hole a few more.”

“I feel like this is a golf course that you can give yourself a lot of chances. If I can keep hitting the ball the way I am and just hole a few more, I’ll be OK.”

“From tee-to-green, definitely an improvement on my last outing at the TOUR Championship, so comfortable with that.”

“Just trying to find a balance between not feeling too hung over when you tee it up the next day.” 

Leave a Reply

