LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship. Lydia Comes From Seven Back to Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Lydia Ko comes from seven shots back to lead the LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship in South Korea.

LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship

Lydia Ko / Getty Images

An amazing bogey free -7 under par 65 second round for a -10 under total has taken World #2 Lydia Ko to the top of the  LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship leaderboard, coming from seven strokes back at the start of play today.

Lydia spoke about trying to catch someone who has gone low;

“When a player shoots 10-under, 7-under, 8-under, whatever, they had a great day and all you can do is play good golf yourself and just think about it, one shot at a time and see the closer you are to the leader, or if you’re leading, the earlier, the better.”

“Because if you are leading, you’ve got time where you can expand the lead and give yourself a little bit of breathing room I think.”

“I think I put myself in good position, but the weekend is where they say people try to go up the leaderboard.”

“I’m just going to focus on one shot at a time tomorrow and just focus on my game, because I know there’s going to be a lot of great golf from a lot of great players.”

Lexi Thompson is in second place at -9 under par, her -5 under 67 included one bogey, she was full of admiration for Lydia’s effort, even comparing her to the man upstairs;

“It is amazing to see.”

“I played with Lydia a lot on the LPGA Tour, and even since she was younger in the Australian Masters and Australian Open, and I knew she was going to be a great talent coming up the first time I ever played with her.”

“Just goes to show, she has an overall very strong game, not many weakness, great ball-striker, kind of sneaky long and putts it and chips it like God.”

Two South Korean’s share third place, both on -8 under par, Yoo-Ji Cho, -4 under 68 today, and yesterdays runaway leader Sung Hyun Park, who followed her opening round -10 under 62 with a very sad +2 over par 74, she spoke to reporters afterwards;

“I think it would be a lie to say that I didn’t feel any pressure because of the record that I had set yesterday.”

“But as I mentioned yesterday, I was very satisfied with my play yesterday, and I did, as I also mentioned earlier, expect one of the days to be a bit rough or not go my way.”

“So I’m trying to get over it today.”

World #1 Inbee Park is not playing too well on home soil, carding an even par 72 in the second round leaving her way down the table at -3 under overall.

 

Leave a Reply

