LPGA KEB HANA BANK CHAMPIONSHIP. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There are two ladies tied at the top of the LPGA Keb Hana Bank Championship, Lydia Ko is joined by Sung Hyun Park at the end of day 3 in South Korea.

LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship

Lydia and Sung Hyun/Getty Images

Lydia had a strange -3 under par 69 third round, which included two bogey’s and a double to post her -13 under par total, while Sung Hyun carded a -5 under 67 to join her at the top of the LPGA Keb Hana Bank Championship leaderboard with the same total.

Lydia explained that the first bogey, on eleven was the catalyst of her collapse, and tomorrow it will be good putting that will get her into the winners circle;

“I thought I hit the ball pretty good until the shot on 11, pushed it on 12. I think that the 11th hole was a turning point where I started not hitting the ball very good.”

“On the front nine, I thought I put myself in good position.”

“I thought it was an okay ball-striking day. You know, it wasn’t fantastic, but it was still playable.”

“I think that when you do hit those missed shots, you kind of have to pray to get a good lie in the rough or get a little fortunate.”

“I think the winner tomorrow will probably be holing a lot of putts. I think putting is the most important thing.”

“You may miss the fairway, but to put yourself in good position and hole out the birdie or a good par save, I think that’s the crucial thing about being in that winner’s circle.”

Sung Hyun had never considered winning, but now her chances have gone up, and she is already proud of her achievement so far in her first LPGA Tour event;

“To be really honest, I don’t think I ever really thought about winning, and so I wasn’t really confident coming into this week.”

“I was more worried and nervous, but I’m quite proud of myself. So I think that would explain how I feel.”

“I think my chances of winning have gone up significantly higher today, and so it’s actually a great honor for me to start in the leaders group tomorrow.”

“And this is my first LPGA championship, so I’m actually very pleased and it’s a great honor. But I’m sure as all of you all know, golf is a very unpredictable sport, so I think I still have to give my best every hole tomorrow.”

Mirim Lee and Lexi Thompson share third place, both just one shot back at -12 under par.  Mirim with a -3 under par 69 third round and Lexi -5 under 67.

They are followed by Moriya Jutanugarn and Yoon-Ji Cho, both at -11 under par.

It is a very congested leaderboard with six players within three shots of the lead starting the final round tomorrow. Lydia must be ruing those four dropped shots today.

2 thoughts on “LPGA KEB HANA BANK CHAMPIONSHIP. Two Tied at the Top.

Leave a Reply

