Portugal Masters. Andy Has Five Shot Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Andy Sullivan has a five shot lead at the top of the  Portugal Masters leaderboard at the conclusion of 54 holes at  Oceånico Victoria Golf Club. 

Portugal Masters

Happy Andy / Getty Images

Andy is close to gaining his third European Tour victory here at the Portugal Masters, and will take a five shot lead into the final round tomorrow. A shot-gun start third round did not affect his play, scoring -4 under par 67 in the windy conditions, but thankfully the forecasted rain did not materialist.

Andy mentioned the weather, and his good putting;

“I’m just playing really good golf at the moment and just hung in there early doors and managed to knock a few good putts in early.”

“And I just kept that going throughout the round and ended up finishing  four under for the day, which is awesome in that horrible weather out there.”

“I thought I handled myself well. I didn’t really feel like I’d done much wrong out there today.”

“I think every part of my game is in good touch, and I didn’t really ever leave myself too much to do.”

“More of the same tomorrow, more of the same hopefully. Just go out there and do my thing, and hopefully come in and sign for a good score again.”

“Just go out there and do my thing like I have been, and take it shot by shot and see what happens.”

Eduardo de la Riva occupies second place, those five shots back, a -3 under par 68 not enough to make a dent in the gap between himself and the leader, he is now at -13 under for the tournament.

Chris Wood, who had a bogey free round of the day at -6 under par 65, and  Jorge Campillo -4 under 67, share third place at -11 under par.

Nicolas Colsaerts and Thomas Pieters  are tied in fifth at -10 under, but really have no chance of catching the leader.

 

Leave a Reply

