Portugal Masters. Andy Sullivan Seals The Win

White Dragon Golf

Andy Sullivan claimed a wonderful wire to wire win at the Portugal Masters in a two-hour delayed shot-gun start at Oceånico Victoria Golf Club.

Portugal Masters

Andy Sullivan / Getty Images

Andy carded a bogey free-5 under par 66 to win his third European Tour title this season at the Portugal Masters with a -23 under par total, and a massive nine shots annihilation of the field.

Andy said his two previous wins were good, but this was even better;

“Apprehensive to start, I was a little bit edgy and I think that putt on four really settled me down and from there onwards I just felt really comfortable all the way round.” 

“I didn’t really feel like I took that many risks until the end there and I just thought I’d play within myself and let them try and catch me.

“I’m not going to make any mistakes, and I didn’t today.”

“Bogey free is unbelievable, it’s just what I wanted to do and it’s just incredible.”

“Those two wins in South Africa were unbelievable but to show your peers that you can do it in Europe as well is unbelievable and to do it in front of so many people from my home golf club.”

“My mum and dad are here and it’s been incredible.”

Andy’s win, which blew away the record winning margin at the event which had been Alexander Levy’s three shot victory last year, has also  moved him into the top 50 of the World Rankings.

Those nine shots back in second place was Chris Wood, who partnered Andy today, Chris had a final round -3 under par 68, for a -14 under par total.

Anthony Wall made it three Englishmen in the top three, he shared third place with  Eduardo de la Riva and Trevor Fisher Jnr, all on -13 under par.

 

Leave a Reply

