UBS Hong Kong Open. Andrea Pavan and Lu Wei-chih Lead

White Dragon Golf

 Andrea Pavan and Lu Wei-chih lead the UBS Hong Kong Open after the first round at Hong Kong Golf Club.

UBS Hong Kong Open UBS Hong Kong Open

Andrea Pavan and Lu Wei-chih / Getty Images

Andrea and Lu both carded -6 under par 64 in the opening round of the UBS Hong Kong Open, to lead by just one shot.

Andrea has to finish in second place, or better, to avoid heading to the Qualifying School to try and get his card. He told reporters of his troubles this year;

“This year has been a struggle to say the least, I’m just trying to big deep and really look forward to every week.”

“Obviously this is the last of the year, and then I’m looking to go to Q-School. So it’s all about just giving myself chances.”

“I’m just really trying to get my game in better shape. It’s good on the range. I still feel like I’m lacking a bit of confidence.”

“Today I’ve managed to play very well for about 15 holes and then I had the occasional bad shot. So today I got away with it a couple times.”

It’s all about just waiting. I know I have what it takes.”

“It’s been tough last year and this year, but it’s all a learning curve and I really hope I can make the next step soon.

Lu has had some problems of his own, coming close to retirement three years ago after undergoing brain surgery, he said today was a very good day;

“Today, the first three holes, I was not feeling very focused on the golf course.”

 “And then after the third hole bogey, I just told myself that I can’t do this because if I don’t try to get back to my form, it might not be a good round.”

“Fortunately, starting on number four, I birdied four, five and six, and I started feeling much better and getting into the flow. Then the back nine, I felt very comfortable.

“Today is a really good round for me.”

There are some big names in this field, Justin Rose is the best ranked player and is currently tied third with  CT Pan and Jeev Milka Singh, all just one shot back after their first rounds of -5 under par 65.

Justin said he was happy with the way he played the course today;

“Really happy with the start, more happy with how I played today.”

“Happy with how I swung the club, struck the ball, how patient I played.”

“Got to grips with the golf course, for the first time.”

Also in the field are Ian Poulter, -3 under 67, Graeme McDowell -4 under 66, Patrick Reed -2 under 68 and Dustin Johnson -1 under 69.

 

Leave a Reply

