Hero Women’s Indian Open. Emily Pedersen 1st Round Leader

White Dragon Golf

19-year-old rookie professional Emily Pedersen, from Denmark is the 1st round leader at the Hero Women’s Indian Open at DLF Golf and Country Club in India.

 Hero Women’s Indian Open

Emily Pedersen / Getty Images

Emily had a opening round -2 under par 70 to hold the lead in the Hero Women’s Indian Open in India. She was satisfied with her round and very happy with her putting performance;

“I’m very happy with finishing minus two. I had a rough start, starting with hitting one in the bushes and made a four by making a chip.”

“It started up and down, didn’t hit my irons well but my chipping and short game was good.”

“On my back nine (the front) I only missed one fairway and had lots of birdie chances.”

The back nine is very tough. You have to place every shot on every hole and the greens are very tough as well. My putting and short game was good and that’s what kept me in the game.”

Thailand’s Sarapon Chamchoi and  Giulia Sergas, from Italy, share second place at -1 under par.

Giulia knew this was going to be a tough tournament, and is glad it is only a three-day event;

Hero Women’s Indian Open

Giulia Sergas / Getty Images

“When I saw the course in the practice round I knew it was going to be difficult so I started to play today and I was very protective and took everything slow.”

“It wasn’t a tough day but it was a tough course. There was no wind so it could have been even tougher. No wind, no rain and a perfect day.”

“The bounces around the green, I would call it sometimes unfair, because they ping 30, 40 yards sometimes, but I had three birdies on number 16, 18 and 2.”

“The key is the long game, but it really is putting too. Thank God it’s three days, as you can get mentally exhausted.”

Tied in fourth place at even par are  Minea Blomqvist of Finland and Germany’s Sophia Popov.

Amateur player Aditi Ashok is the best placed of the Indian players in a share of 19th on +3 over par.

 

2 thoughts on “Hero Women’s Indian Open. Emily Pedersen 1st Round Leader

Leave a Reply

