Fubon LPGA Taiwan Championship. Lydia Leaps Ahead.

White Dragon Golf

Lydia Ko leaps ahead in the Fubon LPGA Taiwan Championship, taking four shot 54 hole lead after the third round in Taipei.

 Fubon LPGA Taiwan Championship

Lydia Ko /Getty Images

Lydia fired a -5 under par 67 to top the Fubon LPGA Taiwan Championship leaderboard at -13 under par. The round included eight birdies, a bogey and a double-bogey, but she will take a four shot advantage into the final round tomorrow. Apart from some magical play she said the putts started to drop;

“I chipped in on 11 and I think that gave me some momentum.”

“I was playing good at the first couple of holes, made a double and then made a bogey. I think I kind of got a little frustrated about that.”

“But after that chip-in, I kind of loosened up and tried to smile a little bit more. The putts started dropping.”

“You know, on this course, anything can happen, there’s some large numbers out there.”

“I made a double myself. I nearly made two doubles out there. But also, if you’re putting good and you’re striking the ball good, you can shoot a couple low ones, too.”

“Especially with how packed it is up top, and you know so many top players there, it’s hard to say, hey, I’ve got the trophy today.”

“I’ve still got to play a lot of good golf tomorrow and there’s still 18 holes to go.”

Eun-Hee Ji is in second place at -9 under par, an even par third round of 72 keeping her from staying in touch with the leader.

Charley Hull is in third position at -8  under par with a -1 under 71 today, and she will be in the final group again with Lydia and Eun-Hee Ji.

Charley has a simple approach to the final round tomorrow;

“Keep making birdies.”

Leave a Reply

