Shriners Hospitals for Children Open. Rookie Brett Hangs on to Lead as Darkness Halts Play.

Rookie Brett Stegmaier hangs on to the lead, after 54 holes at the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open, in Las Vegas, as darkness once again halts play.

 Shriners Hospitals for Children Open

Brett Stegmaier / USATS

Brett had a completed third round -3 under par 68 to stay top of the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open at -13 under par. He said he will need some help to sleep tonight;

“I’ll probably take some NyQuil to fall asleep, I’ll need some help falling asleep.” 

”It played a little tougher, so played a little more conservatively.”

”Certainly happy to make four birdies and one bogey and be in the lead.”

‘Just do the same things, not really look at leaderboards until maybe the last three holes.”

”I’ve played really well the last two months. Been doing the same things, just try and read the greens well.”

“I feel like if I read the greens well, I’ll play well. That’s the main goal tomorrow.”

Morgan Hoffman is in second place, he too has finished his -2 under par 69 third round for a -12 under par total. He hooked his drive on the 18th into the desert rocks and ended up saving bogey with a 10-foot putt;

“I was just saying if I could see the ball in there and it wasn’t in the bush, I’d give it a shot.”

“Yeah, lucky to get out of there with bogey.”

Jimmy Walker,  Chad Campbell and 2011 winner Kevin Na are  tied for third at -11 under par. Jimmy  had a -2 under 69, Kevin-3 under shot 68, and Chad with a -1 under 70.

Jimmy thought the TPC Summerlin course was set up to be tough today;

”I think that the pins are a lot more difficult than they normally are, a lot of tough pins.”

”It’s like they don’t want us to make birdies. A lot of holes, par is pretty good here.”

Chad was of the same opinion;

 “There wasn’t a whole lot of low scores,  it was pretty hard to get to those pins.”

“But I feel like I played OK, and looking forward to tomorrow.”

Kevin is in contention, once again, the home town boy won here in 2011;

“There’s a lot of added pressure, being in my hometown and having won here.”

“You know, first round I got off to a slow start and stayed patient, shot 3 under. Same thing again. Just seemed like I’ve been patient and it’s paid off so far.”

“I think this is the toughest conditions I’ve ever seen out here.”

“The greens are drying out. They’re getting firm. You see a little bit of purple in it.”

“I’m thinking it’s going to be firm again tomorrow.”

 “Who knows. There is six or seven birdies out there, so somebody that’s kind of in the top five shoots six or seven under could win the tournament.”

 

Leave a Reply

