Hero Women’s Indian Open. Emily Has Wire to Wire Win

White Dragon Golf

Emily Pedersen had a wire to wire win at the Hero Women’s Indian Open, her first Ladies European Tour victory, for the 19 year-old from Denmark.

Hero Women’s Indian Open.

Emily Pedersen / Getty Images

Emily carded another +1 over par 73 round to win the  Hero Women’s Indian Open  on the challenging Black Knight course at DLF Golf and Country Club with a an even par total for the tournament.

Emily was denied her first win when she lost out in a playoff to Celine Herbin at the Lacoste Ladies Open de France last month, but caddy Mike Curry kept her going. Earlier in the week Emily had joked about having a caddy named Curry, and playing in India;

“It’s amazing and I’m so happy. The course has been a big challenge for us.”

“My game has been very good, very steady. I didn’t make any huge mistakes.”

“I kept focused all day.” 

“I made a bogey on 17, three putted and I was kind of getting a flash back and I’m so happy it didn’t happen again and I could win.”

“I was thinking about the play-off after 17 but my caddie Mikey Curry kept me going and focused on my own shots.”

Another Dane Malene Jorgensen shared second place with Becky Morgan from Wales and Cheyenne Woods of the USA.

Becky was ruing a missed opportunity here;

“I had a really good chance on the last two holes so I’m a little bit disappointed.”

“I’m fairly happy with the way I played, I just left some putts out there that didn’t get to the hole.”

“I hit it pretty straight so I feel like there are a few courses on the European Tour that suit me like Pilsen and here. It’s okay finishing second but I wish I’d have won.”

Malene is still searching for her first win, but is getting closer;

“It’s second this time instead of third, so one step closer.”

“I struggled with my swing at the beginning of the week so I’m actually quite happy to finish second. It was so close out there,”

Leave a Reply

