BLUE BAY LPGA. Xi Yu Lin Leads. Lydia Ko Crashes.

White Dragon Golf

Xi Yu Lin leads the Blue Bay LPGA tournament after the first round on Hainan Island in China.

Blue Bay LPGA

Xi Yu Lin / Getty Images

Xi Yu Lin started on her home soil in style, shooting -5 under par 67 at the Blue Bay LPGA in China.

Carding a  birdie at the 17th gave her the outright lead;

“Seventeen, because that pin position today is ; well, it’s pretty easy for that green.”

“So I was just looking, I should get it close to this hole and try to make a birdie.”

“I actually hit it a little thin but when the wind is helping, so I wasn’t really looking at the ball, and they told me I almost hit in. Yeah, I was pretty surprised.”

“I think today is pretty good round for me.”

“Actually when I played in the practice round, I thought, this place is pretty tough, and also I’m pretty surprised what I’m doing today.”

“So I’m really satisfied with my game and my game today.”

Austin Ernst is in second place, scoring -4 under par 68 in her opening round, saying she was in control of her iron shots today, and also made some good putts;

“I had pretty good control of my irons all day coming in from the fairway.”

“So I can still be aggressive but there are pins you’ve got to play to a side where you might have to hit it five or ten feet left or right of the pin because if you hit it on the other side, you’re going to have a really tough up-and-down.”

“Pretty windy out there and then a few of the pins are in kind of tough spots if you get it on the wrong side of the hole.”

“But I hit it pretty well all day.  I gave myself a lot of looks. Made a lot of good putts. A lot of good pars.”

Five ladies are tied in third position, all at -2 under par, Stacy Lewis, Jane Park, Jenny Shin, Ryan O’Toole and Sei Young Kim.

New World number one Lydia Ko, who decimated the field last week, had a major meltdown, carding +6 over par 78, which included five bogey’s, a double and one lone birdie. Her close rival Inbee Park fared little better posting +3 over 75.

 

Leave a Reply

