CIMB Classic

White Dragon GolfCIMB Classic

Scott Piercy leads the CIMB Classic at Kuala Lumpur Golf & Country Club in Malaysia.

CIMB ClASSIC

Scott Piercy / Getty Images

Scott opened the CIMB Classic with a classic round of -11 under par 61 to top the leaderboard at the end of day 1.

A red hot putter was the key, he needed only 25 putts on the round. He was not feeling too good at the start of play following a poor performance last week in his home town of Las Vegas;

“I’ve been struggling with the putter.”

“I just focused on getting my speed right on the greens and my caddie gave me a few really good reads today.”

“I made the putts I didn’t last week and got a little lucky as well.”

“I was really frustrated, especially being at home, I felt like I played the absolute worst I could have played and still finished top-25.“

“Well, can I shoot 62 tomorrow, too?”

“I only missed three or four greens today so if you got 14 chances, you’re doing pretty good.”

Brendan Steele and Hideki Matsuyama share second place, three shots back at -8 under par.

Hideki made reference to the steaming hot conditions;

“In this weather, you can’t beat yourself too much. I’ll practice a little bit and head back to the hotel.”

“I hit my driver really well today and that was the reason for my low score.”

“This is my third time here and I love the course. Playing the last couple of years prepared me for that.”

Tied in fourth spot are Spencer Levin and Cameron Smith.

Shot of the day went to Scott Brown, who dropped his tee shot in the hole at the 199-yard par three 15th hole, to win a fabulous BMW i8, he tweeted;

“Make an ace, walk away with a new car. Not bad.”

CIMB Classic

Scott Brown and BMW i8/ twitter

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

