Turkish Airlines Open. Jaco Still in Command.

White Dragon Golf

Jaco Van Zyl is still in command of the Turkish Airlines Open, after the second round at The Montgomerie Maxx Royal course.

Turkish Airlines Open

Jaco Van Zyl / Getty Images

Jaco carded a second round -3 under par 69 to stay on top of the Turkish Airlines Open leaderboard with a -14 under par total. The South African is still having fun out there on the course;

“It’s always good fun. That’s why we practise hours and hours and hours to be in this position. It’s just nice to be able to enjoy it.”

 “It’s a field of quality players and they have all played nicely to be here at the end of the day.”

“To be in this position is really an honor, and hopefully we can stay in the mix until the last nine holes on Sunday.”

“I got off to a nice start today, I felt really comfortable out there and played nicely.”

“Unfortunately a couple of loose shots on the back nine and I shot one over par.”

“We just turned into the breeze. Misjudged the wind a little bit, hit it in the water unfortunately and resulted in a bogey.”

“Then five, six, seven, eight – four good holes, playing into the breeze, hitting a lot of long irons in there.”

“Tough play, sloppy greens;  going through there level par is not too bad and I just unfortunately hit a really bad shot on eight.”

Richard Bland and Chris Wood share second place, two shots back at -12 under par for the tournament. Richard shot a fine round of -7 under par 65, while Chris signed for another round of -6 under 66.

Rory McIlroy was at -10 under after a second consecutive round of 67, and is well placed to make a move on Saturday, with his improved putting;

“They’re as stress-free two 67s as I have shot all year.”

“I definitely feel like there’s a lot more to come. I feel like I can hit the ball a little better. I can definitely get my wedges closer.”

“I made a couple of good putts to save pars over the past couple of days, but for the most part I’m giving myself chances on most greens.”

 

Leave a Reply

