Turkish Airlines Open. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There are two players tied at the top of the Turkish Airlines Open leaderboard, and Jaco Van Zyl, after 54 holes at the Montgomerie Maxx Royal course.

Turkish Airlines Open

Victor Dubuisson / Getty Images

Victor shot a third round -5 under par 67 to join long time leader Jaco at the top of the Turkish Airlines Open leaderboard after three rounds at -16 under par.

Victor likes the course, and said he putted very well;

“Great performance. Made just two mistakes today but made some great putts on the back nine.”

“It’s a course that I feel great on. Today, 13 was very good, as well as the first two days. This was really the key for going for a low score.”

“My long game has been really, really good since the beginning of the year, but my short game was just really, really bad. I don’t know, I changed my putter one month and a half ago.”

Jaco is going for a wire to wire win, and his first European Tour victory;

“It’s an honor to be in this position. I’ll go out there and see what the golfing gods have got in store.”

“I played nicely the first nine holes, not too many mistakes.”

“I had quite a few chances coming in on the back nine and let a couple slip through.”

Someone who intends to make life tough for them in the final round is Rory McIlroy, who is currently tied in third place with Kiradech Aphibarnrat, just one shot back at -15 under par.

Rory with a third consecutive -5 under 67 round and Kiradech -6 under 66.

Rory thinks he can go lower than 67 tomorrow;

“I needed to play well coming in here for this 67, I got off to a bit of a slow start, I don’t know why, I just felt very lethargic out there today, I couldn’t really get any energy.”

“To finish the way I did was very pleasing and I’d say this was the best of them just because I didn’t get off to a great start and I needed to dig in deep and finish the round off well, which I did.”

“The bogey on ten was good to turn frustration into motivation and to play well those next few holes. Definitely the eagle on 13 was the spark that I needed to get myself up the leaderboard.”

“I feel if I play the same way and execute a little bit better, there’s definitely a lower score out there for me. The three 67s that I’ve shot this week, I feel like I’ve played very much within myself.”

“So if I can get something going and get some momentum out there tomorrow, no reason why I can’t go lower than that.”

Leave a Reply

