Blue Bay LPGA. Sei Young Kim Wins.

White Dragon Golf

Sei Young Kim from South Korea wins the Blue Bay LPGA tournament at Jian Lake Blue Bay Golf Course, in China.

Blue Bay LPGA

Sei Young Kim / Getty Images

Sei Young rolled in a birdie putt on the last hole to win the Blue Bay LPGA title. A final round of -2 under par 70 gave the victory on that score and avoid a play-off that would have included Kim Kaufman, Candie Kung and Stacy Lewis, who all finished the tournament at -1 under par.

Sei Young picked up her third victory this season, and said she could not believe it. She has matched Lydia Ko’s three victories (in 2014) in their respective rookie seasons;

“I couldn’t believe it.”

“Yeah, Stacy Lewis was my idol.”

“She is one of my favorite players, so I’m very honored to play with her.”

“But I win, she still is my idol.”

“As soon as I saw this course, I realised it was my type of layout and really wanted to win, so I am very happy right now.”

The top four on the leaderboard were the only ladies to finish the tournament under par. Kim, who was -3 under today, Stacy -2, and Candie a -1 under par final round, all tied in second place just one shot off the pace at -1.

Sandra Gal, Xi Yu Lin and Alena Sharp ended tied for fifth on +3 over par, while World number one Lydia Ko played the weekend  -4 under par, after a terrible start to this tournament, finished T8 at +4 over.

Leave a Reply

