Sanya Ladies Open. Thidapa Suwannapura Sets The Pace.

White Dragon GolfSanya Ladies Open

Thidapa Suwannapura, from Thailand sets the pace after the first round at the Sanya Ladies Open  at Yalong Bay Golf Club in China.

Sanya Ladies Open

Thidapa Suwannapura / Getty Images

Thidapa had a first round of -5 under par 67, to lead the Sanya Ladies Open by just one shot. She had to retire a fortnight ago with a persistent back injury, 

“It was a good day for golf, the weather was great and the wind wasn’t too strong, so there were a few chances to make birdie, but you cannot expect anything from this course because it’s not easy.”

“I did have some back pain and it went all the way to my feet so if you followed me on the course you would see I kept stretching my back on almost every hole.” 

Sharing second place at -4 under par, after rounds of -4 under 68 are; Isabella Ramsay, Yan-Hong Pan and Kusuma Meechai.

Shanshan Feng, the world no.6 and the defending champion Xiyu Lin are in a group who are on -2 under, after their opening rounds of 70.

Shashan was reasonably happy with her position on day 1;

“I would say overall I did okay. Two under is not a super good score but it’s not bad.”

“My problem today was not hitting the balls close to the pins so I didn’t have that many birdie chances, but I still made three, and a bogey on a par five.”

“I still have two more days, so more chances.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

