TOTO JAPAN CLASSIC. Two Tied For The 1st Round Lead.

White Dragon Golf

There are two ladies tied at the top of the Toto Japan Classic leaderboard, American’s Angela Stanford and Ryann O’Toole at the Kintestsu Kashikojima Country Club.

Toto Japan Classic

Angela Stanford & Ryann O’Toole / Getty Images

Angela and Ryann both carded first rounds of -7 under par 65 to share the lead at the top of the Toto Japan Classic. Neither of them were bogey free, Angela slipped up to record her first bogey on the last hole, Ryann had two bogey’s and one Eagle in her round.

Angela said her putter was hot;

“My putter was hot, I think I had 24 total putts and that’s pretty close to a career-low.”

“I was reading the putts really well. I was seeing the line better than I have all year so I was very confident about the reads.”

“I’m excited, I haven’t been in this position much this year. It’s fun to go out and make birdies. I’m excited for the next two days.”

Ryann also had a great day with the putter;

“I struck the ball really well and I also putted very well.”

“The putts that I missed were the ones that I misread so I was rolling it really well.”

“It was just one of those days where you point, aim and shoot.”

“I had an eagle on four, 108 yards with a gap wedge from the rough.”

“I played for it to release and it went in so that was a really good eagle. I just felt like I played steady and that I could swing away with no problem.”

Ai Suzuki, Mi-Jeong Jeon, Ilhee Lee, Jenny Shin and Ha-Neul Kim  are all at -6 under par and sharing third place.

There are eight ladies tied in 8th position, including Yani Tseng, Jiyai Shin, Stacy Lewis, Lexi Thompson and Alena Sharp, all at 5-under par.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

