Sanya Ladies Open. Kusuma Meechai Two Shots Clear.

White Dragon GolfSanya Ladies Open

Kusuma Meechai, from Thailand, is two shots clear of the field after 36 holes at the Sanya Ladies Open in China.

Sanya Ladies Open

Kusuma Meechai /Getty Images

Kusuma shot a second round -6 under par 66 at the Sanya Ladies Open, to sit comfortably on top of the leaderboard at -10 under par at Yalong Bay Golf Club in China.

Kusuma wants to win the Sanya Ladies Open on Sunday and earn Ladies European Tour membership,  in order to avoid a trip to next month’s Lalla Aicha Tour School Final Qualifying School in Morocco;

“I really like the course, it’s very nice.”

 “I’ve been playing on the China LPGA which is a great opportunity to take the next step.”

“I hope I win this tournament so I don’t have to go to the Final Stage of qualifying for the Ladies European Tour.”

Second place is shared, Ainil Bakar, from Malaysia,  and Shanshan Feng from China with -8 under par totals.

Ainil had a consecutive second round -4 under par 68, while Shanshan carded -6 under 66.

Shanshan is sticking to her game plan, and said it is all going nicely;

“Yesterday I only shot two under and I did miss a lot of birdie chances but today I made a lot of birdies, so I’m really happy about it.”

“Coming into this week I didn’t set any goals but I have a little idea where I’m at, despite my habit of not looking at the leader board. Tomorrow is just another day so I’ll stick to my plan.”

Ainil was happy with her greatly improved putting performance;

“I saved a lot of putts today and made a lot of five footers to save par. I hit 12 greens and got up and down.”

” My putting has been the key for today and yesterday. I hit 14 fairways yesterday and 12 today.”

“Putting has been my weakness so far this year and I worked a lot on it last week and it turned out well so far.”

Two ladies are tied in third place, Amelia Lewis,  and Jing Yan, with tournament totals of -7 under par.

Leave a Reply

