Sanya Ladies Open. China Triumphant, Xiyu Lin Wins.

White Dragon GolfSanya Ladies Open

Xiyu Lin, from China was triumphant at the Sanya Ladies Open at Yalong Bay Golf Club.

Sanya Ladies Open

Xiyu Lin / Getty Images

Xiyu had a bogey free final round -7 under par 65, to win her home town tournament, defending the title she won lat year, the Sanya Ladies Open in China, with a -13 under par total;

“It’s the first time I’ve been waiting in the clubhouse to see if someone could catch me and I was so nervous.”

“I kept telling myself, whatever happens, just accept that and thank God it was a good result.”

“I just love this course so much and every hole, every fairway, every green. I need to find out why I always play well in Sanya.”

“I enjoy playing here and people are so nice. Every time I play here it’s such an enjoyable week.”

“On the last couple of holes, I was a little bit mad, because I missed a short putt on 15, I missed a birdie on 16 and then missed a putt on the last from eight feet.”

“After nine holes I was the same as last year, 10 under and I was telling myself to finish at least 15 this year, trying to make it a little bit better.”

“Unfortunately I didn’t but I gave myself lots of chances and I hit the ball very solid. I’m so glad my long game was really good and even my wedges were getting better the last couple of holes.”

In second place was 17 year-old Jing Yan, a last round -4 under par 68 gave her a -11 under par total;

“I felt like at the end if I played better there was a chance to get to that number one spot or tie it, but I’m happy with the way I held up.”

“Overall it’s been a pretty good week after what happened at the last tournament. It’s a learning experience so I tried to put that behind me and tried to think about moving forward and playing the best golf I can.”

Shanshan Feng claimed third place, a tournament total of -10 under par courtesy of a final round -2 under 70, meant that Chinese players filled the top three spots on the leaderboard. Not a bad effort for a country that has banned golf.

Shanshan said she started poorly, but was happy with the Chinese 1,2,3;

“I would say I had a rough start today. I started with a bogey on the par five and then missed a couple of greens.”

“It didn’t start the way it should have, but I made four birdies from the ninth to the 16th, so that was not bad.”

“I think that’s the first time ever. First and second place, they are both under 20, so I’m really happy to see that because the Chinese girls are doing a lot better and they are trying to catch up.”

“I feel like the pressure is off now, because they are good enough to be on the leader board. It’s not just me, I’m not lonely anymore, so I’m happy.”

Leave a Reply

