Toto Japan Classic. Sun-Ju Ahn Wins Play-Off.

White Dragon Golf

Sun-Ju Ahn wins the Toto Japan Classic in a play-off at Kintestsu Kashikojima Country Club, in Japan.

Toto Japan Classic

Sun-Ju carded a final round -5 under par 67 to join Ji-Hee lee, -6 under 66, and Angela Stanford in a play-off for the Toto Japan Classic title. All three finished with -16 under par tournament totals.

Three ladies tied for the top spot after 56 hole at the Toto Japan Classic at -18 under par for the tournament. Sun-Ju Ahn and Ji-Hee Lee from South Korea with Angela Stanford, from USA.

Sun-Ju, from South Korea, prevailed with a birdie at the first extra hole, the par four 18th.

Sun-Ju was a very happy golfer;

“I’m very happy, I didn’t think that I’d be able to win the tournament but it’s a nice surprise and I’m very happy.”

“I’m just going to enjoy this win and this moment.”

Angela thought her 33 ft putt was going to drop;

“About halfway I thought it might have a chance but it broke more than I thought it would.”

 “Sun-Ju hit a really good shot in there. If you stick it on 18, with this hole, you deserve birdie and you deserve to win.”

“I’m pretty happy, when I left Korea I was pretty upset because I played bad in Malaysia and Korea.”

“I went home put my head down and wanted to get better. I’m happy with this week.”

“In the back of my mind I had chalked this year up to just one of those tough ones but John Killeen, my caddie, kept saying that the year’s not over yet so I guess he was right.”

Ariya Jutanugarn fired an impressive low round of the day, -8 under, in tough conditions, to finish her week in fifth place at -14 under par;

“Before today I thought that if I shoot 2-under today that’d be good.”

“I was just patient and did what I had to do.”

“This year has taught me a lot, I had a really hard time when I missed 10 cuts in a row but I’ve learned how to come back and now I realize that I’m a good golfer and I’ve got more and more confidence.”

 Sei Young Kim, from South Korea, won the Rookie of the Year Title, ending her first season on Tour as the Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year.

Leave a Reply

