Lorena Ochoa Invitational. Inbee Parks Leads.

White Dragon Golf

World #2 Inbee Park leads the Lorena Ochoa Invitational after the first round at Club de Golf Mexico in Mexico City.

Lorena Ochoa Invitational

Inbee Park / Getty Images

Inbee shot an opening round -4 under par 68 to sit on top the  Lorena Ochoa Invitational leaderboard.

A good birdie putt at the last hole giving her the outright lead on the day, and she does not intend to change things much. She had been worried that lack of practice, due to that finger problem she had, may have affected her play;

“Not too much pressure, just going to play like I did today and do a lot of putts.”

“Definitely the front nine was the way I wanted to perform but the back nine I made a few mistakes, I made three bogeys and it could’ve been only one or two so.”

“I was a little bit worried about not practicing for a few days, but I had a good day today especially the front nine.”

“It was a good putting day. Obviously on the back nine I could’ve shot a little bit better but I  have three more days to go and I just got to work on my ball striking, I had a couple of bad shots at the back nine that I’d really like to fix.”

“I made some birdies today, so hopefully I could get rid of those mistakes tomorrow and the next few days.”

Angela Stanford, Suzann Pettersen and Minjee Lee are tied in second place at -3 under par following their first rounds of 69.

Suzann was happy to be back in contention;

“It’s just nice to be back in contention and kind of be back where I should be.”

“I should be in contention every week when I feel my game is there. Asia was a good stretch there to give me some confidence and try to finish out strong next weeks.”

Angela was happy to be playing well at this tournament again;

“I think a lot of times when maybe you are not having the year you want if you can get into a playoff, um, obviously everybody wants to win, but I took a lot from that.”

“So, it kind of helped me boost my confidence a little bit. Then it was nice to play well here again.”

Minjee took last week off, and is ready to go;

“I think I really needed that week off from when I was in Asia.”

 “So, yeah, I was well rested and I came in yesterday and did my practice and I was ready to go.”

Pernilla Lindberg, Mariajo Uribe, Jaye Marie Green, Sydnee Michaels, Azahara Munoz, Gaby Lopez (a), and So Yeon Ryu  are all tied for fifth place at -1 under-par, with rounds of 71.

 

Leave a Reply

