Lorena Ochoa Invitational. Minjee Lee Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Minjee Lee, from Australia, leads after the second round of the Lorena Ochoa Invitational at Club de Golf Mexico, in Mexico City.

Lorena Ochoa Invitational

Minjee Lee / Getty Images

A second consecutive second round of -3 under par 69, put Minjee Lee on top of the Lorena Ochoa Invitational leaderboard at the end of day 2 in Mexico with a -6 under total. Holing out on a couple of long putts helped her out;

“I just holed a couple 12-15 footers and on the par fives, I was kind of close.”

“There’s nothing different I’m going to do on the golf course, I’m going to stick to my golf and take it one shot at a time. I’m not feeling much different.”

Four ladies share second place, just one shot back at -5 under par; Christina Kim, Sei Young Kim, Angela Stanford and World #2 Inbee Park.

Christina  said her lucky charm was Lorena Ochoa, who came out to watch her play the 12th and 13th holes, she birdied both of them;

“I just needed to go back to what I was doing last year, just enjoying it.”

“What Lorena did, it was so cool cause she came to watch me on holes 12 and 13, and the kids, the brother and the father, and I birdied the holes that they came to watch me so it was really awesome.”

“It’s just everything about this place, the people, the culture, the food. There’s nothing negative you could really say about this tournament. It’s just wonderful.”

Inbee was saved by some good putting;

“Not a great ball striking day today, but I still feel really good about the putter.”

“Just a few bad shots, too many bogeys. I made an eagle and a few birdies but still too many mistakes.”

Entering the weekend at Lorena Ochoa Invitational, there are 10 players within three shots of the lead and 15 players within five, in this field of 36 ladies. There is still everything to play for.

Leave a Reply

