OHL Classic at Mayakoba. G-Mac Leads.

White Dragon GolfOHL Classic at Mayakoba

G-Mac, Graeme McDowell, has the 36 hole lead at the OHL Classic at Mayakoba, in Mexico.

 OHL Classic at Mayakoba

G-Mac / Getty Images

Graeme shot a second round -8 under par 63, to grab the lead at the OHL Classic at Mayakoba at  El Camaleon Golf Club.

Keeping it simple is his motto;

“I’m seeing the greens well, keeping this real simple.”

“I came into these two weeks with a pretty relaxed attitude.”

“The last couple days, so far, the attitude’s been good. I’ve just been out there trying to play golf and enjoy myself.”

“I went through a spell in my career where winning started to become a little easier.”

“I’ve had a spell here the last 18 months where making cuts has been hard and getting in contention has been difficult.”

“I feel like I’ve got enough resources to pull on going into a weekend like this one. The keys are not getting too far ahead of myself and staying in the present.”

“This is not the last-chance saloon this weekend.”

“I’m trying to play better. It’s been a frustrating year. That’s the game of golf we know and love. You’ve got to take the rough with the smooth.”

Derek Fathauer is in second place, -5 under par 66 today keeping him in contention.

Si Woo Kim and Harold Varner 111 share 3rd place, both at -10 under for the two rounds. Harold had the low round of the day, a -9 under par 62.

Justin Thomas tweeted a prediction that Harold would celebrate the release of Justin Bieber’s new album with  a low score, Harold thought that was pretty funny;

“That was pretty funny, I didn’t think about that until I got off the green.”

“I’m a big Justin Bieber fan, it’s just Thomas is such an idiot. I just can’t imagine what he was thinking after he sent that but it was pretty funny.”

I’m going to play better, that’s pretty simple, I’m going to play really good.”

Russell Knox stayed in the moment, carding a second round -6 under par 65, to be tied in 14th;

“Obviously my confidence is high, but I’m as relaxed as I’ll ever be.”

“Yesterday was like I was just playing with my buddies. I actually had to try and pump myself up a little bit just because I felt like I was going through the motions. I’m just trying to enjoy every minute of this.”

“I’m not sure how I shot 65 to be honest because I didn’t feel like I played very good at all.”

“I like those rounds, though, because too many times I feel like you play good enough to shoot 65 and you shoot 72.”

Leave a Reply

