Australian Masters. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon GolfAustralian Masters

There are two players tied at the top of the Australian Masters tournament after 36 holes at Huntingdale Golf Club. Adam Scott holds on, but is caught by Peter Wilson.

Australian Masters

Peter Wilson & Adam Scott / Getty Images

Adam could only manage a -1 under par 70, following his great round of 64 yesterday, and has been caught at the top of the Australian Masters leaderboard by Peter Wilson, who carded a lovely second round -4 under par 67.

Adam cruised through the front nine with four birdies, but carded  two bogey’s and a double on the back, he said it was a game of two halves;

“It was the tale of two halves today.  A lovely start, played really solid and then a couple loose shots on the back nine and I kind of was grinding to get it in the clubhouse actually. That’s the way it goes.”

“It’s a shame, I felt like I didn’t do too much too bad but the driver kind of cost me three or four shots today.’

” I just couldn’t get it in the fairway and take advantage of the par fives.”

“I just lost my momentum on ten there a little bit.  When you make a double like that, it’s not the end of the world, especially when you’re out in front, but you want to bounce back with a couple birdies quick, and I just found it hard to do that the next few holes.”

Peter is happy to be with Adam tomorrow;

“I’m excited about it.  He’s one of Australia’s best players, yeah,it will be good fun.”

“I’m just trying to plod along and keep it out of trouble.  I enjoy playing here,so, yeah, it’s great that I backed up another good round.”

“Played with Graham McDowell a few years ago at the Heath and played with Vijay Singh the last day at Fiji.”

” They are just human to me.  I don’t get intimidated by anybody.  I’m looking forward to seeing how he plays actually.  I’ve never played with him.”

Alone in third place is Mathew Guyett, a second round -5 under par 66 today has moved him up the leaderboard.

George McNeill, from USA, shares fourth spot with Brett Rumford, George also had -5 under 66, while Brett carded a bogey free -7 under par 64.

George is enjoying his first trip to Aussie;

Everything is great so far.  Obviously playing good golf helps.  Came over here to just; I’ve never been to Australia.  I’ve always wanted to come.”

“Everybody has just spoken super‑highlyof every golf course in the Sandbelt. And Geoff Ogilvy who is a good friend of mine, he’s always talked very highly of it and everything.”

” I’ve looked forward to getting over here and playing some of the golf courses.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

