CME Group Tour Championship. Austin Ernst Leads After Round One.

White Dragon Golf

Austin Ernst leads the CME Group Tour Championship after round one on the Gold Course of Tiburón Golf Club in Naples, Florida.

CME Group Tour Championship

Austin Ernst / Getty Images

Austin carded a first round -6 under par 66 to lead the CME Group Tour Championship. Although she isn’t one of the nine players with a shot at the $1 million Race to the CME Globe, a win here would do nicely. If her putter stays hot she will gain confidence;

“Really, I’ve just been a little up and down with the putter.”

“I hit the ball well today. Gave myself a lot of good looks and made a lot of them.”

“I think I had eight birdies today. Obviously get a round like that, where I get confidence with my putter, that’s normally when I have my good weeks.”

Mi Hyang Lee is in second place, on her own at -5 under par.

There are six ladies at -4 under, Gerina Pillar, Jayne Marie Green, Cristie Kerr, Brittany Lincicome, Sei Young Kim and Jennifer Song.

Sei Young is trying not to concentrate on the huge Million Dollar purse on offer;

“I’m very excited, it’s my dream. It’s come almost true.”

“I try on the course not to think about it, it’s just step by step.”

“That’s very important to me to keep my mind in the game.”

World No. 1 Lydia Ko is not far behind with a -3 under par 69, she won both the CME Group Tour Championship and Race to the CME Globe titles here a year ago, and held the top spot in this years race coming into this tournament;

“I think it’s better than last year.”

“If you think about it, it might be more on the line this week than at Evian.”

“I have got to think of it as another tournament. That’s what I said for all the majors.”

“I’ve got to focus on one shot at a time and not think of it as it’s a major so it’s more special.”

“Obviously it is at the end of the day, but it’s another tournament.”

“We’ve got the world’s best golfer and the top players are here. I mean, it’s a great field, so in a way it does feel like a major.”

“With everything that might come along on Sunday, might be even more than that. I just got to say, hey, hit good shots.”

World  No.2 Inbee Park, and was second in the race, carded a first round -1 under par 71, and is currently T22 in the Tour Championship.

 

Leave a Reply

