Australian Masters. Matt Millar Leads

White Dragon GolfAustralian Masters

Matt Millar leads the Australian Masters after the third round at Huntingdale Golf Club in Melbourne, Australia.

Australian Masters

Matt Millar / Getty Images

Matt went round in -3 under par 68 in the third round of the Australian Masters tournament at Huntingdale Golf Club, for a -7 under par total.

Matt won the New Zealand PGA title and has been in the form of his life since;

“It’s been a great year, I always thought this tournament would be my best chance.”

“I’ll probably lay awake all night.”

“It comes down to my own game. It couldn’t be any further away to Adam Scott’s game. I just marvel at what he does.”

“The big goal was to come into these three and to try to win one.  I always thought this would be my best chance.”

“I think I’m going to have to play my best to win it, because no one’s going to hand it back to you.”

” You’ve got guys like John Senden, Pete Senior, he’s won a thousand titles.”

“This is probably a tournament that I’ve wanted to win. in terms of Australian golf for me, I’ve grown up watching it here at Huntingdale and listening to Jack and Sandy doing their thing.”

“There’s something about playing in Melbourne, playing in front of these crowds, playing these wonderful golf courses.  Yeah, it would mean a hell of a lot.” 

In second place is Andrew Evans, a -1 under 70 today, for a -6 under par total.

There are four players tied in third position at -5 under par, veteran Peter Senior, -3 under 68 today, Michael Sim, -3 under 68, John Senden, even par 71 and Matt Guyatt +2 over 73 in the third round.

George McNeill has 7th place to himself at -4 under par, a poor round +2 over 73 knocking back down the table.

The leaders at the start of play today, Adam Scott and Peter Wilson both turned in shockers for the third round. World #12 Adam, the tournament favorite, +6 over 77 today and Peter +9 over 80.

Australian Masters

Adam Scott wondering / Getty Images

U.S. Amateur champion, Bryson DeChambeau +1 over 72 today is T11 on -2 under par.

Leave a Reply

