RSM Classic. Kevin Chappell Has 36 Hole Lead.

White Dragon GolfThe RSM Classic

Kevin Chappell has the 36 hole lead at the RSM Classic at Sea Island.

RSM Classic

Kevin Chappell / PGA Tour

Kevin added a second round -5 under par 65 on the Seaside Course, to add to yesterdays score of -6 on the Plantation Course for a RSM Classic total of -11 under par.

He holed a 45 yard bunker shot on the par five 15th for an Eagle;

“I took pitching wedge and said, let’s hit it harder than you want to.”

“It’s easy to hit that shot 25, 30 feet short of the hole which would’ve left a tough putt over a ridge.”

“It came out how I wanted to. Probably the shot of the year for me so far.”

“The wind’s blowing hard from one direction, so I have enough control of my ball right now that I know what shot’s going to come out.”

“I feel comfortable sending it up into the wind.”

“I really enjoy it here on the island, it puts me in a good place. I’m excited to be here and in the position I’m in.”

Freddie Jacobsen and Kevin Kisner share second place at -10 under. Freddie scored -5 under 67 on the Plantation, while Kevin K carded -3 under 67 on the Seaside Course.

Kevin K is still searching for his first Tour win, but he is having fun doing it;

“Man, I’m having a ball, playing good golf is always fun.”

“It felt better each time I’ve been in that position. Hitting shots both ways, my caddie said it’s almost like watching a video game.”

Kyle Stanley is alone in fourth position with a tournament total of -9 under par, he had a -3 under 67 on the Seaside Course today.

Young Love did not last long, Dru missed the cut, when he looked safe, then came  disaster, playing the final seven holes in +7 over, to card  76.

Dad Davis made it through at -2 under for the competition, but wished he had been on the bag for his son today;

“Today, I wish I was his caddie.”

“I was tempted to do something to disrupt him, because he pulled 2-iron on three (218 yards), and it was too much club.”

“He pulled it over the green into a bad place. If he’d have hit 4-iron there into the middle of the green, got out of there, he’d have been fine.”

“He bogeyed there, got mad, swung really hard at the next one (at the par-5 fourth) trying to knock it on in two, and after that he was rattled.”

Leave a Reply

