DP World Tour Championship. Andy Leads Rory.

White Dragon Golf

Andy Sullivan leads Rory McIlroy after 54 holes of the DP World Tour Championship at  Jumeirah Golf Estates in Dubai.

 DP World Tour Championship  DP World Tour Championship

Andy and Rory / Getty Images

Andy shot -4 under par 68 in the third round of the  DP World Tour Championship sit on top of the leaderboard with a -16 under par total.

Andy reckons he just needs to keep on putting well, and he will have a chance;

“If I keep putting the way I am and hitting the ball well, I can still do it. I believe in myself, so I’ll just see but it’s going to be a good day I think.”

“There’s no pressure on me. I’m not expected to win, am I? I can go out there and play golf. No one is going to expect me to beat him tomorrow.”

“So for me it’s a nice position to be in, one in front.”

“I felt pretty calm out there. I got a little bit frustrated through the middle part of the round, just not quite on point on the golf today. I felt like the putter really saved me the last few holes.”

“Sixty eight, the way I played, I was quite happy with that, really. Played a lot better yesterday and only shot two better.”

Rory made a charge today, -7 under par 65, and now has a great chance to win the Race to Dubai title, again, just one shot back at -15 under, but would like to win his third European Tour title for this year as well;

“It’s the only thing left this year.”

“It’s my last round of the year, last round of the season and I want to make the most of it.”

“It would have been nicer to be a shot better going into the last round but I’ve got one more round to go out and give it my all.”

“It would mean an awful lot just being able to go into the Christmas break on a bit of a high note winning The Race to Dubai, winning this tournament, just to get another tournament win.”

“I played fantastically well. I could have been five under through five easily. I hit the ball beautifully.”

“Everything was just firing today and that’s why I’m walking off the golf course a little bit disappointed because that 65 could have easily been a 62 or a 61.”

“But I’m still in a great position going into tomorrow.”

“At the end of the season, if I walk away with four wins, it’s still pretty good.”

“But a Race to Dubai title, even though it wasn’t the season that I wanted, it would just be huge to walk away here on a high tomorrow.”

Patrick Reed holds third place, with a -13 under par total, carding -4 under par 68 today.

Rory’s nearest challenger for the The Race to Dubai title, Danny Willett is now four shots behind, at -11 under, and it would seem that his race is done, but he still has some hope;

“It looks like we’re not going to be a ridiculous way behind. If you can keep it to two or three shots, anything can happen.”

Leave a Reply

