RSM Classic. Kevin K in Command.

White Dragon GolfThe RSM Classic

Kevin Kisner is in command of the RSM Classic after 54 holes at Sea Island. All matches were played on the Seaside Course.

RSM Classic

Kevin Kisner / Getty Images

Kevin K carded three birdies in his last three holes today on the Seaside Course in the RSM Classic, to lead the tournament by three shots going into the final round tomorrow. His third round -6 under par 64 giving him a tournament total of -16 under par.

He said this is a whole new experience for him;

“I’m just looking forward to it, I haven’t been in this position all year, with a three-shot lead going into the final round, so it’s something new for me. I’m excited.”

“What I’ve learned is you just can’t hold back on this tour.”

“Any time you think you’re doing great, somebody else is, too. I’m just going to try to keep making birdies.”

“I’ll put a number of 20, 21 under in my head and see if they can catch that one.”

“Standing on 15, I was thinking it was going to be a dog fight all day tomorrow again, which it will.”

“But having a three-shot cushion was huge to finish that way.”

“Sixteen is not my favorite tee shot in the world, that left-to-right wind, so to have a  birdie there was clutch.”

Kevin Chappell is in second place, a third round -2 under par 68 no match for his playing partner. Kevin C now has a competition total of -13 under par, he knows he will need a low round tomorrow if he wants to take this title;

“He’s been in this situation a lot lately, and it will probably take a low one from me tomorrow to have a chance.”

Graeme McDowell holds third place on his own at -12 under par, he carded -5 under 65 today. Last weeks win has certainly rejuvenated him, he is now looking for back to back wins.

G-Mac made a glaring error today, on the first fairway, picking up his ball to clean it, there was no lift clean and place rule in operation on the day;

“They looked at me and I was thinking, oh my goodness, you absolute idiot, what are you doing?'”

 “When you do something as silly as that, it was the automatic pilot. That was one of the more automatic mistakes.”

“It’s a much better story if it has a happy ending. I was standing over that 10-footer saying, ‘This is going to be a better story with the lads in the bar if I make this and if not, I’m going to take a lot of abuse for it.'”

Leave a Reply

