Rory Wins It All.

White Dragon Golf

Rory McIlroy wins it all, the DP World Tour Championship, and along with it The Race to Dubai, at the Earth Course at Jumeirah Golf Estates.

DP World Tour Championship

Rory and Trophies / Getty Images

Rory won the DP World Tour Championship with  a final round -6 under par 66 to give him a tournament total of -21 under, and a one shot victory. The win also gave him The Race to Dubai trophy, his nearest rival Danny Willett finished seven shots back at -13 under par, in a tie for fourth.

Rory beat Andy Sullivan by that one shot, but not without some drama, it came when Rory found water on the par thee 17th, and then had a 35 ft bogey putt, which he made, that gave him a one shot advantage playing the last;

“It’s definitely the longest putt I’ve ever made for a bogey.”

“I don’t think there’s been one that’s ever come at a better time, so definitely the best bogey of my career.”

“I guess if I had been tied playing the last, I would have backed myself with my length, but giving myself that one-shot cushion made a huge difference and I was able to just hang on.”

“I’ve played really good golf this week, 13 under par at the weekend, I couldn’t think of a better way to finish the season.”

“It means an awful lot, I had to play so well over the weekend. Dubai has been a pretty sweet place for me.”

Andy gave it his all, but in the end came up just short, the putts would not drop;

“Just to come up head-to-head with someone of Rory’s quality, it was absolutely awesome and something that will stick with me for a long time going forward.”

“I gave it everything on that front nine, I just couldn’t quite get the putts to drop on the back nine. I’ve got so much to take from this week, both the way I’ve played and how I’ve handled it.” 

“For me it’s about doing it on a more consistent basis and getting up there and trying to get in the last group with Rory more often.”

Branden Grace was third, he carded a final round -5 under 67, for a -15 under par total.

The Race to Dubai

Resplendent Rory / Getty Images

 

2 thoughts on “Rory Wins It All.

Leave a Reply

