RSM Classic. Kevin K Crushes the Opposition to Win.

White Dragon GolfThe RSM Classic

Kevin Kisner crushes the opposition to win the RSM Classic on Sea Island, his maiden PGA Tour victory.

RSM Classic

Kevin Kisner / Getty Images

After a year of runner-up finishes Kevin Kisner finally won, at the RSM Classic on Sunday. He shot a final round -6 under par 64 on the Seaside Course, for a record breaking winning total of -22 under par. A whopping six shot margin over second place, and as he sunk the final putt on 18 his year-old daughter Katie ran over to greet him, smiling from ear to ear Kevin said to her;

“We did it!”

Kevin told reporters he knew it would happen sooner or later;

“I’ve just been playing so well all year.”

“I knew one day it was going to happen when I was going to make all the putts. I did it on the front nine.”

“I hope the floodgates are open.”

“You’ve got to believe you can win on Thursday. I hope that catapults me into believing that every week.”

“What a way to end the year, by far the greatest year of my life golf-wise.”

“To finish it that way, I couldn’t write it up any better.”

Kevin Chappell was second, six shots back at -16 under par, his final round -3 under par 67 never troubled Kevin K. He had this say afterwards;

“When he’s shooting 128 on the weekend, pretty tough to beat.”

Last weeks winner Graeme McDowell was third, at -15 under par, his final round was marred by an approach shot that buried itself deep into the face of the 16th bunker. He made a good five from there, but the momentum was gone.

Graeme said it was the first time he had played alongside Kevin K;

“First time I think I’ve ever played with him, didn’t realize just how steady he was.”

“He played really aggressive today for a guy who has never won a golf tournament.”

“I was thinking if I could get a couple under early on that I might have some sort of a shot. But he closed the door early on. And it was impressive.”

Leave a Reply

