Australian Open. Matt Jones Leads at Half-Way.

White Dragon GolfAustralian Open

Matt Jones leads the Australian Open at the half-way stage at The Australian Golf Club, in Sydney.

Australian Open

Matt Jones / Getty Images

Matt scored a second round -3 under par 68 in the Australian Open, giving him a leading total of -7 under par, and a nice three shot 36 hole lead.

To win here would be great, a Matt has never won a PGA Tour of Australasia tournament, but he has thought about it;

“Of course I’ve thought about it, it would be fantastic.”

“Any time you have a chance to win your own country’s Open, it would be fantastic.”

“But, two days to go, I can’t really be thinking about that now. I’ll be thinking about that if I have a chance coming down the stretch on Sunday.”

“I do know the golf course; I’m comfortable with lines off the tees.  The greens are completely different to what I grew up on here, different grass, a lot of different breaks.” 

“I do have local knowledge and it’ll be fun to be out there on the weekend with a lot of friends and family and members from this course out there.” 

Todd Sinnott holds second place on his own at -4 under par, a -1 under 70 today keeps him in touch of the leader, the rookie is impressed with last years winner Jordan Spieth;

“It’s pretty cool.  I suppose I’m young, but Spieth’s younger, and watching what Spieth did this year winning two Majors and having one of the best years ever basically, it’s pretty cool to be playing alongside him.”

“Hopefully I’ll be competing against him over the last couple of days.”

“I’m more experienced now; I’ve dealt with last year here where I had a bad last round, so I sort of know what to expect on the last couple of days being in the last couple of groups.”

“I’ll hopefully give it a good shake in the next couple of days.”

“Probably a little bit more mature and a little bit more comfortable in bigger situations I suppose, but I’m still learning and I’ll keep learning.” 

Defending Champion, Jordan Spieth, the Worlds number one, from the USA, is in a tie for third place, at -3 under par. He shares that spot with Geoff Ogilvy, Nicolas Colsaerts, Aron Price and round one leader, Lincoln Tighe.

Jordan is hoping to apply some pressure on moving day;

“Right now I think the goal is going to be to try and shoot 10-under on the weekend and I think that should be good enough.”

“I like the challenge of chasing but not being too far away, knowing that you can maybe go out ahead and put just a bit of pressure on.  Maybe they hear the noise, the roars, if you can generate some.”

Adam Scott made the cut, a +2 over par today, he said he was tired, and is still having putting problems;

“Yesterday was tiring. This is my sixth event out of the last eight weeks and getting out of bed at four o’clock this morning, I wasn’t springing out of bed and then I just misjudged the pace of the greens for most of the day.” 

“I just couldn’t get myself to hit the putt hard enough and when the greens slow down I tend to struggle and I did again today.” 

Come talk with us Adam.

Leave a Reply

