Alfred Dunhill Championship. Schwartzel Sails On.

White Dragon Golf

Charl Schwartzel sails on in the Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopards Creek Country Club in South Africa.

Alfred Dunhill Championship

Charl Schwartzel watched by the Leopard / Getty Images

Charl will take a three shot lead into the final round of the Alfred Dunhill Championship after his third round -2 under par 70 gave him a -13 under par tournament total.

Charl, the home town favorite, is already a three-time winner of this event, but admitted he struggled a bit today, as he tries to become the first South African to win the same official European Tour event four times;

“I felt really uncomfortable to be honest, I struggled.”

“As good as the long game was the first few days, it was as bad today and it made me feel very uncomfortable.”

“If I can have some bad rounds still under par, out of my experience, that’s how you compete in tournaments and even win tournaments.”

“On the positive side of it, I’ve shot a lot worse scores playing like this and that means there is an improvement in my game.”

“It can’t be far away. It has to be feelings, I’m just feeling very, very uncomfortable so if I can go and find something that can trigger me I think I’ll sleep a little better.”

“I just would like to play some decent golf. If someone shoots a low score and beats me then so be it. I just want to play some decent golf myself, I’ve been longing for it for a while.”

Sharing second place, at -10 under par is European Tour rookie Sebastien Gros, he fired a third round -9 under 63, and he is tied with countryman Benjamine Herbert, both players are from France. Benjamine carded -4 under 68.

At -8 under, fourth place belongs to Dylan Frittelli, another South African, who best finish to date is  a tie for tenth place at last season’s Tshwane Open. He should be able to improve on that result here, he posted a third round -6 under 66 today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

