Alfred Dunhill Championship. Charl the Champion.

White Dragon Golf

Charl Schwartzel emerged as the Champion at the Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopard Creek Country Club in South Africa.

Alfred Dunhill Championship

Charl Schwartzel / Getty Images

Charl cruised to a four shot victory at the Alfred Dunhill Championship with a -2 under par 70 final round giving him a total of -15 under par. he becomes the first South African to win four official European Tour titles at the same event, making him the king of Leopard Creek Country Club. He would like to play a Major here;

“I wish we could play some Majors here. It’s definitely my favourite place, I love coming here and the golf course.”

“It feels good, the way I’ve played the last few years, I’ve been down in quite a slump, I didn’t really see myself coming out and winning.”

“But we’ve put in so much hard work in the last 18 months and it’s frustrating when week-in, week-out you’re playing and it feels like it’s never going to turn.”

“I guess there’s no better fit than for it to turn around here. This place has treated me really well. I got my first win here and now my tenth so I think it’s pretty fitting.”

“It turned on the back nine. I felt more comfortable today.”

“My chipping was really fantastic on the weekend and that’s what got it going. I made birdie on 11 and 13 and 14.”

“I knew I was going to have to shoot at least two or three under on the back nine to give myself a good chance of winning and I’m very happy with that.”

“Once I saw the board on 16 then I felt comfortable and I knew it was up to me not to make any mistakes.”

Grégory Bourdy finished in second place, at -11 under par, a good final round -4 under par 68 saw him climb up the leaderboard.

Another Frenchman came in third, Benjamine Herbert at -10 under par, he could only managed a last round of even par 72.

Low round of the day went Jaco Van Zyl, -8 under par 64, he finished T8 at -7 under.

Leave a Reply

