Hero World Challenge. Three Tied at the Top.

White Dragon GolfWorld Challenge

There are three players tied at the top of the Hero World Challenge leaderboard after the first round at  Albany Golf Club in the Bahamas. Jimmy Walker, Zach Johnson and Paul Casey share the top spot at -6 under par.

Hero World Challenge

Paul Casey / Getty Images

Paul, Jimmy and Zach fired -6 under par 66 in the opening round of the Hero World Challenge in the Bahamas, which gives them a one shot lead over the chasing pack of five players all tied second place at -5 under par.

Paul had a bogey free first round, his only mistake was leaving a putt short;

“The only blemish I can think of is maybe I left a putt short on line, which is a little criminal.”

“Other than that, I played some really, really nice golf.”

Jimmy is trying something that Butch Harman has been teaching him, and I guess it is paying off;

“It’s something he’s been trying to get me to do for a while, and it’s tough.”

“I told him I was going to make a really tough commitment to try to do it.”

“I’ve been swinging a certain way for a long time and it’s a hard habit to break.”

In the bunch at -5 under par are Adam Scott and World number one Jordan Spieth, who made a one, as he Aced the par three 2nd hole, from 172 yards;

“I just needed to hit a nice punch-draw with a six-iron.”

“It was right at it  but we didn’t think it went in.”

“I thought it was about 10 or 12 feet long after I struck it. It took a little while in the air to drop.”

Hero World Challenge

Anirban Lahiri congratulates Jordan on his Hole in One / Getty Images

They are joined on -5 under by Brooks Koepka, Bill Haas, and Bubba Watson.

Bubba made a strange comment about the Albany Golf Club course;

“This course is better than I am.”

“When I played it for the first time, the wind was a little different direction and I told Teddy (his caddie), Teddy, I don’t know if I can play this course. It’s really, really hard.”

Dustin Johnson is on his own at -4 under par, for ninth place. He was lucky to playing at all after he cut his right heel while getting out of the water from a diving stint on Tuesday. Playing the opening round here in tennis shoes and managed just fine with a 68.

“I thought it was just a scratch.”

“Then I was just sitting in the boat, looked down and there was blood everywhere.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

