Nedbank Golf Challenge. Henrik Has Half-way Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Henrik Stenson has the half-way lead in the Nedbank Golf Challenge at  the Gary Player Country Club in South Africa. A weather delay of two hours and 11 minutes in the middle of the day, as lightning surrounded Sun City and heavy rain battered the course did not seem to bother the Ice Man.

Nedbank Golf Challenge

Henrik Stenson / Getty Images

Henrik carded a brilliant inward nine holes of 31 strokes, to post a second round of -5 under 67, and take the Nedbank Golf Challenge half-way point lead at -11 under par.

I think it is safe to say that he has now recovered from the flu, and got his putter working;

“I’m surprised given that on Wednesday afternoon I didn’t think I would be able to tee it up.”

“I thought I was done and dusted, so to be leading after two days, it’s a turnaround to say the least.”

“But the saying is ‘beware of the injured or sick golfer’ and I guess that’s true.”

“I was not on a good run before the break. I didn’t do too much wrong but managed to string three bogeys in a row, so at that time it was probably good to have a break, and it really cooled down afterwards for the back nine.”

“I got the putter going, that was hot at least, and made a couple of nice birdie putts.”

“All in all a very good back nine turned an average round into a good one.”

Jaco Van Zyl is still in touch, just one shot behind at -10 under par, a second round of -4 under 68 making sure he is in sight of the leader going into the week-end. He said he enjoyed the duel between him and Henrik today;

“It felt a little like a duel between me and Henrik.”

“I looked at the leaderboard and I think we were two or three clear of the rest of the field. It’s always good fun, especially if you’re in the same group. You can kind of keep an eye on each other.”

“There’s good reason why he’s Number Seven in the world, looking at the putts he made coming in.”

“I’ve just figured this tournament is one my dream events to play, and if I do really well here, it’s a means and a way to get into my other dream event, which is the Masters.”

“So I’m very well aware of what’s going on around me here.”

I don’t feel that there’s too much expectation, so I’ll go out over the weekend and try and get a couple of low ones in there.”

Robert Streb, from the USA holds third place, at -9 under par, a -6 under 66 today moving him up the leaderboard nicely.

Defending champion Danny Willett has a back injury and has slipped down the leaderboard to T7, with a +3 over 75 today, leaving him nine shots off the lead at -2 under.

Leave a Reply

