Nedbank Golf Challenge. Leishman Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Marc Leishman leads the Nedbank Golf Challenge in Sun City after 54 holes of the tournament at the Gary Player Country Club.

 Nedbank Golf Challenge

Marc Leishman / Getty Images

Australian Marc fired the low round of the day, -6 under par 66, to take control of the Nedbank Golf Challenge in South Africa. He now has a tournament total of -14 under par, and will have a one shot advantage over Henrik Stenson going into the final round tomorrow.

Marc has been in this position before, and knows about the pressure he will get from Henrik, and hopes he does not come up short this time. Good putting was the key today, and he wants that trend to continue tomorrow;

“I saw Henrik was getting away a little bit so I had to try to do something to make it interesting for tomorrow.”

“Hopefully I can have another good round like today and give him a run for his money.”

“I’ll be very relaxed, there’s not too much to stress about. Obviously I really want to win, but it’s golf. I generally sleep well so hopefully I’ll do that tonight, and I’ll try to make some birdies tomorrow.”

“There’s a lot of golf to go and anything can happen.”

“I’ve been in this position a few times in big events so it’s great to draw on that experience.”

“I’ve come up short a couple of times but I’ve won tournaments before and I’m looking forward to having a chance tomorrow.”

 “It was a good day. I got the speed of the greens a lot better today. I’d been missing a lot of putts low all week from hitting them a bit soft, so I fixed that today and managed to hole some putts, which was the main difference.”

Henrik, from Sweden, had another hot day with the putter, sinking some vital ones just to stay in touch. A third round of -2 under 70, for a -13 under par total  keeping Marc in sight.

South African Jaco Van Zyl is keeping the home crowd happy, he is alone in third place at -10 under par, a third round of even par today kind of stalled his momentum.

From the USA, Robert Streb also had a disappointing even par third round, he is stayed at -9 under for the competition.

Leave a Reply

