Hero World Challenge. Bubba Wins.

White Dragon GolfWorld Challenge

Bubba Watson won the Hero World Challenge in the Bahamas, with a very convincing performance. Not bad for a golf course he said was very difficult.

Hero World Challenge

Bubba Watson / Getty Images

Bubba carded a final round -6 under par 66 to claim the Hero World Challenge title, with a -25 under par total, and a three shot victory.

Bubba only played because Jason Day pulled out, to be with his wife after the birth of their daughter;

“I guess I’ve got to thank Jason Day for backing out. I have to thank the U.S. government and passport office for getting Dakota a passport so we could be here.”

“For us, it’s a good ride, a fun ride.”

“I want my name to be close to that leaderboard every tournament, every year, so people are always talking about Bubba Watson, about how consistent he is and good he is.”

“That’s my whole focus right now, every year getting better and better.”

“I get nervous just like anybody else, and I just try to find a way to get the ball in play.”

“I hit some big slices today, hit some big hooks today, just trying to get the ball in play. I’m just trying to look for a score. I’m not looking for perfection.”

Patrick Reed finished in second place, he also carded a last round -6 under 66, for a total of -22 under par.

Rickie Fowler fired a final round -8 under par 64 to claim third place on his own at -21 under par. He spoke about Bubba’s performance;

“Every year he’s in the top 5, top 10 in tee-to-green strokes gained.”

“That’s big when you start getting small greens, just because he may have shorter clubs in, but he’s hitting as many or more greens than people and has more looks at birdie.”

Justin Rose, who lives close to the  Albany Golf Club, and has lingered around the bottom of the leaderboard all week, went out today and set a new course record with a – 10 under par 62, to make sure he was not last;

“I knew the only thing I could come out of the week with was bragging rights.”

Leave a Reply

