Nedbank Golf Challenge. Marc Leishman Wins.

White Dragon Golf

Marc Leishman wins the Nedbank Golf Challenge at the Gary Player County Club in Sun City, South Africa.

Nedbank Golf Challenge

Marc Leishman / Getty Images

A final round -5 under par 67 gave the emotional six shot victory to Marc at the Nedbank Golf Challenge, with a -19 under par total. It had been a difficult year for Marc as his wife Audrey got very unwell, and he was unsure of his golfing future, but now everything in the garden is rosy;

“It’s amazing. I’m so happy. It’s not very often you can walk up 18 with a good cushion and enjoy it.”

“I knew it was going to be a really tough day, I knew I had to play well. Henrik’s an awesome player and I knew he’d make me earn it, which he did.”

“I’m really pleased that I could play as well as I did and have a little bit of a buffer there at the end.”

“Golf’s a lot easier when you don’t have to make up lost ground, especially on this golf course where there’s trouble everywhere.”

“I was really happy to not have too many bogeys. I definitely found out where the trouble was in the practice round.”

“I’m pretty happy to have this year over, to be honest.”

“Audrey got very sick and I lost an uncle who I was very close to. This tops off what was otherwise not a great year.”

“Three weeks ago we moved into a new house, so this will help pay for that.”

Henrik Stenson finished in second place, a last round of even par was not what he was looking for, four birdies cancelled out by four bogey’s, finishing way back at -13 under par.

Third place went to Chris Wood, at -9 under par, a last round -4 under par getting him into that spot on his own.

Byeong-hun An, fresh from being crowned the Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year finished this tournament at -7 under par in 8th place on his own.

Byeong-hun An, Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year / Getty Images

Byeong-hun An, Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year / Getty Images

Leave a Reply

